{Real Weddings} John & Mary’s Heartfelt Angwin Affair

by Laicie

Tucked away high in the mountains at Sylvan Lake Estates in Angwin, California, John and Mary’s gorgeous wedding was packed with tons of personal touches… including homemade jam and pickle favors.

(how much do you love the idea of pickle favors?!)

For the best description of the day, just take a look at this lovely note from the bride:

John and I love having friends over for cozy dinner parties and wine nights, and we really wanted our wedding guests to feel as welcomed and comfortable as they would in our home. I grew up in Napa, and we wanted to share the wine country scenery and hospitality we love so much. As soon as we arrived at the Sylvan Lake Estate, it was love at first sight. The home felt like a hidden garden, and we loved the idea of bringing our guests to a place we knew they had never been before. While grey and yellow was our wedding’s color palette. The white rustic farm tables had a casual elegance and my mom sewed all the table runners herself. Our centerpieces came from the farmers’ market, and my bridesmaids and grandma put them together the day before the wedding. I wanted to do a homemade favor, and jams and pickles were the perfect fit. I wore a necklace with my husband’s initials, as well as my late grandfather’s wedding ring. John’s grandfather and my grandmother, each married more than 60 years, held our rings. My father and stepfather both walked me down the aisle, to a string quartet version of the song “Yellow”. After dinner, my new husband and my dad performed a song that they had written together during our engagement. We spent the rest of the night laughing and dancing with our neon glow sticks. It was a night that truly felt like the best backyard dinner party we’ve ever thrown.

Photographer: 39 East Photography / Event Venue: Sylvan Lake Estates