The Diet

by Laicie

Admit it.  If you’re engaged, you’ve probably thought about a diet once or twice.  We all want to look our best, and even the most fit and fantastic of us are rarely able to see past those few extra pounds they swear they have to lose (even if they really don’t).  It’s sad, to be sure, but true.

Because Mark and I are anything but immune to the same concerns, and have recently scheduled our engagement shots, the pressure is officially on.   We’ve started a diet, and right now Mark is cursing me for even daring to show him the picture above.

To be honest, though, I’m not a big fan of diets.  I can’t bring myself to jump on board with any of the latest fads, and just the idea brings to mind images of starvation and a little weight loss followed by binge eating and loads of weight gain.  I hate them, and in many cases I might even admit that I don’t believe in them.

But nevertheless, we’ve given in to a few of the trends, shunning white sugar, white flour, and dairy in an attempt to eat as clean as possible.  The approach feels ultimately healthy to me, which is usually my biggest gripe with trendy diets, and actually makes my body feel better instead of worse.  We’re still watching our intake, because it’s easy to OD on even healthy foods, and getting as much exercise as possible, and ultimately we’re hoping to see the weight come off.

We’re only a few days in, so really I’m useless on the advice front, I’m still just trying to get by.  But here are a few things we’re doing to (hopefully) ensure our success…

1) Have a plan.  I will be the first to say, as much as I hate it, that counting calories isn’t always enough to keep a gal on track.  For me, it helps to cut something out and set strict limitations.  This is the biggest reason for our sugar, flour, and dairy limitations… they force us to contemplate our choices just that much longer.

2) Rid the house of anything and everything tempting.  This is so hard, but so necessary.  I have very little self control and if it’s there, I’m eating it.

3) Hide the scale for a week.  I would weigh myself every day.  And as good as it is to keep track, it really is better to limit the amount of obsessing one is able to do over the number on the scale and just focus on the task at hand.

4) Support each other.  There is nothing like having a partner who can slap a brownie out of your hand.  When you are there for each other, you both are more likely to succeed.  Plus it’s kind of a sick sort of bonding, right?

I’ll keep you all updated on our progress as the weeks go on.  Wish us luck, and share your own tips and tools in the comments… we need all the help we can get!

Photo (and recipe… uh-oh): Lara Ferroni