The Diet: An Update + My Favorite Healthy Food Blogs

by Laicie

Last time we spoke about this subject, Mark and I had decided to give up sugar and flour and everything else a few other things in an attempt to eat super healthy.

But let’s just be real here.  Eating right is super hard, and having a major event like a wedding looming on the horizon doesn’t always help the matter.  In fact, in a lot of cases, it does the opposite.

So if you’ve gained instead of lost in the course of the whole deal, well, high five.  I’m on your team.

After our failure, and as our engagement shots neared, I began to get desperate.  And despite my deeply held hatred of crash and fad diets, I even managed to talk myself into a couple of fasts… secretly loving the idea that I might be able to cleanse and restart my system, blossoming into the kind of person who dreams of quinoa and kale and shuns all thoughts of cheesecake.

But if there is one thing I really love… it is cheesecake.

Good food, good wine, and good conversation are an essential part of life in my book.  And the parts that make up the whole of a truly good meal are some of my favorites.  Deprivation just isn’t my game.

So – post engagement shots and dress shopping, with a smarter head on my shoulders and a little bit of time, I’m starting over.  And I’m starting from a place I know and love.  I’m counting calories.

When counting calories, it helps keep track, so I usually use a program like Livestrong’s Daily Plate or SparkPeople.  The sites don’t just offer an easy to use database that allows you to input your diet and exercise on a daily basis; they also provide tons of advice and inspiration to help you on your way.

But even then, there’s more to the whole calorie approach than meets the eye.  To avoid a total breakdown, or the feeling of complete starvation, I need to maximize my calories… eating only the most healthy and wholesome foods.  The fact is that when you have a piece of cheesecake (which you’re totally allowed to have) you use up calories that could be better spent on something nourishing… and if all you choose to eat is 1200 calories worth of brownies, well, it will be delicious… but you will also be really hungry by the end of the day.

So I’m on the hunt for super healthy recipes to help me through, since although we do a ton of cooking at home, our standard meals tend to involve a not-so-healthy dose of butter, bread, and cheese.

And in the process, I thought I might share a few of my favorite healthy food blogs.  One look at these and you might even convince yourself (as I currently am) that healthy eating is just as fantastically beautiful and delicious as any silly old cheesecake.

These are a few of my favorites, but I’m sure there are some great ones I’ve missed.  I hope you’ll share your own favorites in the comments!

Sprouted Kitchen
101 Cookbooks
Dana Treat
The Nourished Kitchen

Share your favorite blogs, recipes, strategies… what works best for you?